Fresh From the Garden

I’ve been seeing “Chive Blossom Vinegar” a lot lately in books, magazines, and online.  I had a abundance of chive blossoms this year, so I decided to give it a try.  I followed the directions here, and now, two weeks later, I have a lovely bottle of pink vinegar that smells AMAZING!  I can’t wait to try it on a tossed salad this evening.

I also made some strawberry freezer jam this afternoon with a small bucket of freshly picked berries from a local Amish farm.  YUM!

Here’s the basic recipe, if you want to try some:

Strawberry Freezer Jam

  • 5 cups mashed strawberries
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 6 T instant pectin

Mix sugar and pectin in a bowl.  Add in berries and stir for 3 minutes.  Spoon into  clean, dry jars.  Add lids, and let sit for 30 minutes, then freeze.  (Don’t forget to save a little out for eating now on fresh bread or vanilla ice cream!)  Makes approx. 6 8-oz. jars.

And, it’s almost gooseberry season…

I’ll share my recipe for Gooseberry-Raspberry Freezer Jam in a few weeks when they are ready to pick.  Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

Leave a Reply

